Official Nebraska Government Website

License Renewal

All electrical licenses and apprentice registrations issued by the State Electrical Board expire on December 31 of even numbered years.

In order to renew any license, the holder must provide a certificate for proof of attendance of at least 12-hours of continuing education approved by the State Electrical Board, with at least six of those hours on the National Electrical Code. These hours are not required to renew an apprentice registration.

On October 15 of even numbered years, and only as a courtesy extended by the Board, license renewal notices are sent by mail to the last known address of all license and registration holders.

The holder of an expired license may not install electrical equipment but may renew the license for a period of three months from the date of expiration upon payment of the license fee plus ten percent of the renewal fee for each month or portion thereof past the expiration date.

All holders of licenses expired for more than three months shall apply for a new license.

It is a Class I misdemeanor with a penalty of one year in prison and $1,000 fine to work in the State of Nebraska without a proper license.

Download the Electrical License Renewal Application

 

 

 

About the Division

1220 Lincoln Mall, Suite 125
Lincoln, NE 68508
PH: 402.471.3550     -     FX: 402.471.4297
Email: Office Staff
More Info: Staff - Board Members - Division History

  Main Office| Exam Locations

 
 

Licensing Exams

Click on the appropriate license type to go to the examination application form.

>> More licensing exams