Nebraska State Electrical Division History

The Nebraska State Electrical Division was established by the Legislature with LB765 in 1969 within the office of the State Fire Marshal. The division included a five-member board appointed by the Governor, with the consent of the Legislature, for five-year staggered terms. In 1975, the Nebraska State Electrical Act was created. The Act, Neb.Rev.Stat.§ 81-571 to 81-5,114, provided all laws regarding electrical licensing and electrical inspection in the State.  The Act also increased the membership of the State Electrical Board to seven.

LB490, 1981, established the State Electrical Division as an independent State agency no longer within the office of the State Fire Marshal. The statutes were renumbered to Neb.Rev.Stat.§81-2101 through 81-2145.  Board membership includes one journeyman electrician, one electrical contractor or master electrician, one certified electrical inspector, one registered professional electrical engineer, one municipal electric system representative, one rural electric system representative, and one member of any of such groups.

The State Electrical Division is under the administrative and operative control of the executive director of the division. The State Electrical Board directs the efforts of the executive director and sets the policy of the division. The board has adopted rules necessary to enable it to carry into effect the State Electrical Act. Those rules are known as the State Electrical Board Rules.